December 14, 2012

Last night my son started crying after we had put him to bed. He said that he was afraid that “Something bad was going to happen.” I held him and asked him if he had heard anything that scared him. He said no. As your children grow up, you learn more and more about who they are. This is who my son is. He will let me know something is wrong, but he won’t give me any details. Pressing him for information simply undermines the support he is looking for from me. We solved it by letting the kids sleep in our bed. I woke up with a  wicked creak in my neck. But it’s fine.

530303_10152297020725640_2084669192_n

Leave a Reply

