Six years ago today….

I was in a hospital room being stared down by a doctor and a nurse. The doctor told me I had developed preeclampsia and that I had three choices:

Doctor: 1. Do nothing and have the baby in a few weeks. 2. Have the baby tonight or 3. Go home and have the baby tomorrow.

Nurse: But we don’t like choice 1.

(Me thinking it over)

Me: I’ll have the baby now.

Nurse: You don’t want to do that. By the time they get you set up, it will be 8:00. You’ll be in labor all night.

Doctor: You should go home and get some sleep.

Me: There is no way I’m sleeping tonight.

Doctor: Have a glass of wine. We’ll see you in the morning.

So I didn’t really have a choice. I don’t drink so there was no wine. And I didn’t sleep at all. Who can sleep knowing your life is about to change?

Leave a Reply

