Baking for the 99%

I am a big fan of civil unrest, so I have been following Occupy Boston with some interest. If I were a rock star, I would play for the movement. If I were rich, I would give them money. But I am not, and I don’t. So I thought to myself, what can I do?

I can bake muffins better than almost anybody! That’s what I can do. I will bake my contribution. Plus, I’m sure those kids’ mothers are worried about them getting enough to eat.

I used this recipe from the Barefoot Contessa. I had all of the ingredients on hand, and I figured it would be filling.

I was a little nervous walking into the camp at Dewey Square. I had never been there before, and I didn’t know anyone. But they had a food tent set up, and I just marched the muffins over there. The folks were really appreciative. Which felt good because my kids taking my baking for granted. They told me that there were a lot of vegans in the camp. If I ever do it again, I’ll make a vegan option as well.  I am big fan of butter, so I am going to have to research that.

One last thing. I have recently learned of the dangers of over mixing. I had these beautiful cupcakes that fell flat after I took them out of the oven. Apparently, if you over mix, cupcakes and muffins can deflate. Who knew? Like the instructions state, keep the mixer on the lowest level, and only mix enough to blend everything together.

Corn Muffins

Ingredients

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup sugar

1 cup medium cornmeal

2 tablespoons baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1 1/2 cups whole milk

1/2 pound unsalted butter, melted and cooled

2 extra-large eggs

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Line 12 muffin cups with paper liners. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, mix the flour, sugar, cornmeal, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl, combine the milk, melted butter, and eggs. With the mixer on the lowest speed, pour the wet ingredients into the dry ones and stir until they are just blended. Spoon the batter into the paper liners, filling each one to the top. Bake for 30 minutes, until the tops are crisp and a toothpick comes out clean. Cool slightly and remove from the pan.

6 thoughts on “Baking for the 99%

  1. I’ve made lots of vegan baked goods and apple juice is the easiest substitute for dairy products. It keeps the bread moist. I’ve also had some success with cider vinegar.

  2. It looks like you can’t do an ounce for ounce substitution. I searched around and most recipes actually prefer substituting milk for almond milk. Also, I found a lot of recommendations for apple sauce to replace eggs, although I would recommend EnerG egg (http://www.ener-g.com/egg-replacer.html). It’s just tapioca starch so you should be able to find a box for $4 and it’s the equivalent of hundreds of eggs. It creates the same consistency as an egg, so things will stick together properly. There’s even a recipe for a quiche on the back, although I remain unconvinced. I used it to make a pretty good lemon bar, though.

    This website looks helpful for substitutions: http://www.vegan-nutritionista.com/vegan-baking.html
    I also love the recipes at vegweb.com. Lots of vegan recipes get too complicated and require expensive ingredients. Vegweb is very simple.

Leave a Reply

