Bostonian

I am not a Boston native. I have lived here for sixteen years. One thing I have gotten used to is the constant drone of people who come here and complain about Boston. The people are rude, the food is bad, it’s too provincial. I used to try and offer suggestions. Have you been to the Cape? Have you been to Forest Hills Cemetery? But now, it’s just background noise to me, like the passing of an Orange Line train. I just think, “Well, go then.” And I step off the train and into my city.

Maybe this is how one becomes acclimated.

One thought on “Bostonian

Leave a Reply

