You can’t run away from trouble…but you can run away from people

Suddenly, Interim Temporary Director is out and someone new is in. The Higher Powers in the state government brought New Director around to meet everybody today. As they entered the room, a small crowd gathered and there was a bit of commotion. I realized with some distress that the woman leading the caravan was the Very Important Person3 who gave my job away.

Kelly came over as they were going around the room. I said, “Kelly, I don’t want to see them. I can’t deal with Very Important Person3.”

She looked at me, and said deadpan, “We should run.”

That is what we did. We grabbed our Diet Cokes and we ran out of the room. And yes, everybody saw us.

PS – I told this story to Jen, and she thought about it and said, “And Kelly looks like such a normal person.”

6 thoughts on “You can’t run away from trouble…but you can run away from people

  1. That’s just awesome. I have no shame when it comes to running quickly away from people I don’t want to talk to (or hiding). Ex-boyfriends, ex-bosses, clients, whoever!

Leave a Reply

