Strawberry Bread

Someone on my top secret mothers’ listserve posted comment asking if anyone had a recipe for Strawberry Bread. I had never heard of strawberry bread before, but I became obsessed with making it. I did an internet search and found this recipe on All Recipes.

CHRISTMAS STRAWBERRY BREAD
INGREDIENTS:
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1 3/4 cups frozen sweetened
strawberries, thawed
2 tablespoons strawberry extract
3 eggs, beaten
2 cups sugar
1 1/2 cups canola oil
1/4 cup frozen sweetened strawberries,
thawed, with syrup
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup water
1 tablespoon strawberry extract
DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour two 5×9 inch loaf pans.
2. In a bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. In a separate bowl, beat together the 1 3/4 cups strawberries, 2 tablespoons strawberry extract, eggs, sugar, and oil. Gradually beat the flour mixture into the strawberry mixture. Transfer to the prepared loaf pans.
3. Bake 45 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a loaf comes out clean. Cool on wire racks.
4. In a saucepan, mix the 1/4 cup strawberries with syrup, sugar, water, and 1 tablespoon strawberry extract. Bring to a boil, and stir constantly until sugar is dissolved, about 5 minutes. Pour over the bread while still warm.

Some personal notes: This bread is pretty and pink, and tastes really sweet. I loved it. I skipped number four because it was sweet enough without the glaze. Also, I couldn’t find strawberry extract, and I wasn’t going to kill myself looking for it. One of the comments suggested on Allrecipes suggested substituting the 2 tablespoons of extract with 2 tablespoons of strawberry jam. That is what I did.

This is very much like banana bread, but pinker. Here is how my bread came out:

Strawberry Bread

Legal Note: The one thing I remember from a rather demoralizing intellectual property class is that you can’t copyright recipes. So it’s totes ok for me to reprint. But since I’m nice, here is the link to the original post: http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/christmas-strawberry-bread/Detail.aspx

 

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Bread

  1. Looks good! I think you might find strawberry extract at a place specializing in cake decorating supplies, but I agree that it doesn’t sound worth the trouble.

    (I hate to be nitpicky, but speaking as a food blogger and not a lawyer, it’s not quite true that you can’t copyright a recipe. You can’t copyright a list of ingredients, and you probably can’t copyright a bare-bones list of instructions, but a recipe with directions or explanation constituting “substantial literary expression” – I think that’s the term – is copyrightable.)

  2. Hi Adele,
    Now granted, Intellectual Property was my worst subject, but my understanding of the situation was this: ingredients and instructions can’t be copyrighted. But a recipe collection can be. Also, those little blurbs that talk about how this bread harkens back to the author’s days as a little girl running through the fields of Iowa while the black birds sang, and it was Christmas morning etc… that can be copyrighted. But I think you are ok just printing the recipe.

    But if not….this blog is not intended as legal advice, and in no way establishes a attorney/client relationship. By using this blog, you agree that this information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to constitute legal advice. No representation is made about the accuracy of this information. This blog should not substitute legal advice from a competent licensed attorney. This blog is for entertainment purposes only.

  3. That jives with my understanding, though I think directions are covered too if the recipe-writer gets creative with random asides about that childhood in the fields of Iowa, or if they’re ridiculously persnickety, like instructing you to cut every strawberry into sixteen perfectly-equal pieces before mashing them to a pulp.

    The bottom line, though, is that I don’t think anyone is going to come after you with a cease-and-desist notice so long as you give credit. Hell, most bloggers I know would be glad for the extra publicity!

Leave a Reply

