30 Day Resume Challenge

In a moment of despair, I reached out to my mothers’ listserv. I talked about how battered and abused I was by this irksome agency. I thought I was posting anonymously. But although I passed the bar, I have not yet figured out how to post anonymous comments. Everyone saw who I was. I use my real name on the list. It was probably a good thing because people reached out to me personally.

One of the women was heavily involved in the Women’s Bar Association. She recommended that I join and take on a pro bono case through one of their programs. The pro bono program is one that I am really interested in so I signed up. But then the woman who runs it contacted me and told me that I needed to check with my agency to make sure there were no conflicts. I didn’t want to tell her that things are so chaotic right now that I am not sure who is even in charge. And I did not want to ask Farrah because she would make a suitcase out of it. In the end, I withdrew my name. I was embarrassed but the lady was really nice about it. I do think I am going to join the bar and try and find another way to get involved.

I’ve been noticing a lot of 30 day challenges in the blogosphere. People post a new blog post every day for thirty days. There is that weird facebook “post a picture every day” challenge.

I made up a 30 day challenge for myself. I am going to send out one resume a day, every day for 30 days. I started yesterday.

So far, it’s been a challenge. Yesterday I applied for a job I really want but the job is several Commuter Rail zones away. Today, I applied for a job in Boston that I really want. But I am totally not qualified. But a challenge is a challenge, and I am sending my resume anyway.

5 thoughts on “30 Day Resume Challenge

  1. I think this is awesome. Take the bull by the horns and see what shakes loose. I also think reaching out is good. Networking is so helpful. You never know who will open a great door for you.

Leave a Reply

