Dispatches from the graveyard of my legal career*

Interesting developments on the job front. As I mentioned, when I was hired for this consulting gig, I was told that it would lead to a full on position with benefits and everything. Below is a conversation I had with a friend of mine at work.

Kelly is another intern. She is still in school. She is very a tall and pretty Asian girl who wanted to go to art school but her family forced her into law. (That all is completely irrelevant.)

Kelly: Did you notice that they posted your (permanent) job on the website?

Me: Yeah, I saw that.

Kelly: Did they tell you about it?

Me: No. No one mentioned it.

Kelly: How about when you had your meeting with (new interim Jefe)?

Me: He didn’t bring it up.

Kelly: Weird. No one has said anything about it. It’s almost like they don’t want you to know that it’s there.

Me: Funny that.

Kelly: And you can’t apply online.

Me: No. Snail mail only.

Kelly: The posting says you are supposed to address the cover letter to that guy they just fired. It’s like they don’t want anyone to apply for it.

Me: So weird.

My take. The job is probably earmarked for someone. I am just not entirely convinced that it is me. In other, somewhat related news, I’ve implemented a lot of cost saving measure around here. I am not sure dying my own hair is a good idea.

* Yes, I am getting dramatic.

2 thoughts on “Dispatches from the graveyard of my legal career*

  1. It’s like you work for the same crazy organization my husband does (except it’s on the other side of the country). What is it about bureaucracies?!

Leave a Reply

