To Do List, 2011 Edition

My Goals for the New Year

I can’t call these Resolutions. This is more of a To Do List. Some of these things have got to done.

1. Secure a permanent job
This is most important. By hook or by crook, I need to be employed. And any employer who tries and gives me the “Work for peanuts for a year, and then we might hire you…” can just take a hike.
Fool me once shame on you, etc.

2. Adopt my daughter
My daughter is most certainly my child. In Massachusetts, where Jen and I are married, that is not in doubt. But if we should travel to Disneyworld or such, you can run into problems. I need to adopt her so she is recognized everywhere as my kid. I am actually going to attempt to do this pro se. I will let you know how it goes.

3. Lose 20lbs
This goal is becoming a perennial favorite.

4. Get out of debt
This is somewhat dependent on figuring out Goal #1.

5. Set up a 529 for V.
I have on set up for P. I just need to put in the paperwork for V. I don’t want my kids to have to worry about student loan debt.

6. Buy a single family house
This is more of a dream than a goal. We have lived in our little condo for five years now. Being us, we bought at the height of the market. With two kids, it is far too small for us and all of the plastic toys we have accumulated. With any luck, by the end of the year, we will be able to move into a little house all or own.

How about you? What are your goals for the New Year?

5 thoughts on “To Do List, 2011 Edition

  1. Good goals. Mine are something like this: continue my daily stretching routine (aging is hell on flexibility!); be more connected to the people in my life; keep an eye on the housing market; prepare for peak oil.

  2. Rhea, I am curious how you are planning for peak oil? Our biggest oil uses are the car and heating. If push came to shove, we could probably live without the car. I am not as sure about the heat for the house. We do have a fireplace, but we never use it.

  3. I am viewing peak oil in a much broader way. I want to learn how to grow food, for example! I am also weaning myself off my car. It’s 11 years old and when it dies I plan to go without it. Will use Zipcar, bikes, public transit and walking. Oh, and bumming rides off people with cars. For a picture of what’s to come, read “The Long Emergency.”

Leave a Reply

