Still kicking

I just wanted hi. I’m still here. There are some posts in the works. What has held me up is that I have been fighting a battle with depression.
I’ve been joking that it is because I turn 40 and that is part of it. I guess everyone deals with existential crisis from time to time.

There is something else. I don’t talk about it a lot, but I have hinted at it. I have a history of trauma. My father was an alcoholic and very violent. I grew up in a different time and place, and no one ever intervened on my or my family’s behalf. I do think that if he acted that way in Boston today, we would have been taken away from him and my mom. It was that bad.

I still deal with the aftershocks all these years later.

I really didn’t mean for this to be a serious post. But it is what has been going on. And just when I was starting to feel better, I got hit with a bad cold. So it’s been insanely busy at school, depression and then sick. So this semester has kind of sucked.

But it’s almost over and I have been feeling better physically and mentally. I’m excited for Christmas. I’m excited to have this semester nearly over. I’m excited to be a mom again.

I’ll be posting soon

6 thoughts on “Still kicking

  1. Hang in. Hang out with Virg. Kiss the beautiful boy. The end of law school is in sight and then everything will be better.

    Thanks again for coming to the reading!

  2. I’m sorry.

    I’ve gone through two major depressive episodes. (I was close to suicidal for a lot of 1L year.) If you want to talk, I’m willing to listen.

  3. Yes- you have so much to look forward to! Sorry about the tough times. I don’t know what it is like to live with a demon like that but I truly feel for you. Hope thing look up with all the Christmas cheer in the air!

Leave a Reply

