Sign of the times

Jen and are beginning the stressful journey of trying to get our son into the right Kindergarten. If you live in Boston you know that Boston is on a “lottery system.” Its a very high stakes lottery where you could end up in a magnificent school or you could end up in a disastrous school. The process is complicated and thank god I am sober because I don’t think I could navigate it if I were drinking.

Part of the fun is that some of the better schools do not have before or after care. One of the best ones starts at 9:30. So the lucky parents who won the lottery and get to send their kid to this school also get to figure out who is going to drop their kid off mid morning. If you both work 9 to 5 you have a problem.

I pointed this out to Jen. She thought a moment and said, “Well, maybe you won’t have job. Then you can take him.”

That would be one advantage of unemployment.

This is probably a whole ‘nother blog topic, but job thing has been pretty scary. Which isn’t to say I’ve been looking, because, I haven’t. I’ve just been obsessing about the fact that I haven’t been looking. And then I forget about it. Then I will remember at a random time and won’t be able to sleep at night. I need to get a plan, or at least start thinking about developing a plan. But whenever I do, I just feel so overwhelmed. I am watching my classmates zip off to interviews here and there, but I don’t get the feeling that it is actually getting them anywhere.

So I decided I needed to make a manageable goal for myself. I decided to send out two resumes on Friday. I should be able to do that. My cover letter is written and my resume is up to date. I will let you know how it goes.

5 thoughts on “Sign of the times

  1. Googie- Of course you are being this way. Look at what you have going on! Take a deep breath. Have you thought about networking through the Women’s Bar Assoc.?

  2. Finding a good school is a nightmare. When we were in DC, we tried to found a charter school along with other neighborhood parents in order to have some control over the process. Then we left… Sigh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

