It wasn’t like this on Law and Order

It’s been a summer of files thrown at me as I walk into court, witnesses who say they are going to show and then don’t, and the constant pestering of defense attorneys. But I have been trying to think of an anecdote that captures the entire experience of being an intern at the DAs office. Here is my favorite story.

I was given a motion to suppress the night before. The geek in me loves motions to suppress. I think they are incredibly interesting. This one involved a search of a student in a school. I wanted to do a good job so I stayed up until midnight reading case law and outlining my argument. We had a case right on point, and I was excited

The next day, the defendant shows up. I think this is going to go.

But note, dear reader, it’s the summertime. Ever wonder what school police do when school isn’t in session? They don’t show up for court.

I ask for second call so I could run down and call the unit. I called twice before I get an answer. My officer is on vacation. I go up and tell the judge, and he dismisses the case.

Three days later this young cop waltzes into court. He tells me he is there for the motion to suppress. I explained to him that it was dismissed. He folds his arms, and looks intimidating. He wants to know why I didn’t get it continued. I explained I had no idea what was going on with him. He is pissed off, and protests that he comes to court all the time. This is completely irrelevant, but I’m stammering.

He then gets so pissed off at me he stomps out of the room, and slams the door!

I’m sitting there completely flummoxed. He ignores his summons, and then he comes and yells at me. Furthermore, no one else in the office thought anything of it.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is what it is like to be an ADA.

Leave a Reply

