Today went a little better.

My entire goal for today was to buck up, and not cry. Even if I felt like it was warranted. I had pre-trial hearings today. Imagine me surrounded by defense attorneys who are foaming at the mouth once they heard that I am a student. I got barked at all morning long. One guy made a big deal of the fact that discovery wasn’t complete, though I had the file for all of 20 minutes. And there is a staircase. A staircase that I run up and down about 10 times looking for files, calling other courts, and contacting victims. It’s pretty crazy.

But I actually negotiated a restitution settlement between the victim and the defendant. I felt like a real lawyer. Came home tonight, went for a jog and had a giant cheeseburger delivered because I was starving.

Also, the 2 prosecutors made the interns play two truths and a lie. I admitted to having a tattoo. But I wouldn’t tell them what it was because it is big and slightly obscene. So now they are all obsessed. They keep saying they are going to get me drunk. I thinking about just telling them, but I’m not sure. I might post a picture of it to see what you, anonymous internet, think.

16 thoughts on “Today went a little better.

  1. Jesus Virg, we were just having fun. You are a party pooper. BTW – my grandmother didn’t have a tattoo but my grandfather did. It was on his upper arm. It was a large anchor with a snake coiling around it. I loved it.

  2. I will lead the chant – picTURE, picTURE, picTURE!

    I am a 30 year old without a tattoo – SHOCK! – but only because I had a hard time deciding what I want. Now I’ve decided, but I don’t know where to put it. (I want my son’s name in my husband’s handwriting.) Do I put it on my stretch-marked hip? My stretched out tummy? My bony foot? I want it to be only for me, hide-able, but just can’t decide. Where is yours, if you don’t mind me asking?

  3. Gillian – I say get a tattoo on your back! But I have the same issue. One of the reasons i don’t show my tattoo is that my hip just isn’t what it was when I got the tattoo.

    Will – it is subject to debate whose face is tattooed on my hip. Everyone sees someone different.

    Virgin – you have a name liked Virgin and you wonder how you get roped in?

  4. Oh I have a tattoo of a butterfly on my butt. I got it when I was 18, and thanks God I got a small one that was easy to hide.

    Your court stories bring back memories of a nightmare I thought I had completely repressed. Those first days were so, so hard.

Leave a Reply

