The Stork Report

 

I chose this file because it looks like it is already in the public domain. See what law school does to you?

I chose this file because it looks like it is already in the public domain. See what law school does to you?

Jen is done with her 21 days of birth control. She started on the Lupron shots last night. She told me her dose, but I am afraid I can’t remember. 

I don’t know if I mentioned this, but I am little nervous with her protocol this round. Last round, her doctor did something a little strange. A couple days before retrieval, she cut Jen’s estrogen by half because she was afraid Jen was overstimulating. We had something like 20 follicles, but when we went to retrieve, we only got 3 eggs. 

Her doctor told her that we should just go no holds back this cycle. They are doing the full on protocol and risking Jen overstimulating. Her doctor says the worse that will happen is that Jen could end up on bed rest. But at least we would have some embies to freeze.

I have to admit, I don’t have a lot of confidence in this doctor. I have done a tour of reproductive centers in Boston for my own TTC issues. This place subjected us to a lot of procedures the other places didn’t. Not only did Jen have to get tested for STDs, but so did I! Twice. After a year, they made us get another round. I have rolling veins and the techs can never get my blood without multiple stabbings. I hate blood work. Also, Jen had to go for psych testing. The doctor just kept insisting that she was following FDA regulations. But none of the other places made us do any of that stuff. The hospital where I got pregnant threw a bottle of Clomid and a syringe at me. It was practically a drive by insemination.

Plus, the doctor has a high, whiney voice that makes me cringe. 

Anyway. That’s where we are at.

PS – if anyone happens by here who is checking out different reproductive centers in Boston, feel free to contact me. There is nothing I like more, than subjecting people to my opinion 🙂

9 thoughts on “The Stork Report

  1. I had some bad experiences in this area. That’s all I’m going to say in a public forum. My best advice is to trust your instincts. And remember that every procedure comes with a price tag, whether it’s for you or your insurance company. Repeated STD testing? Check. Psych testing? Check. Lots of drugs? Check. Check. Check.

  2. New Duck, I totally agree with you. I think its ridiculous that she would blame the FDA when none of the other places require the procedures. Really, are they breaking the law? Also, if she wants to risk overstimulating Jen this round – why didn’t she want to take the risk last round?

    But I am in the awkward situation of being a bit of a spectator in all of this. Jen is the one who made the decision to go to this doctor. I have voiced my concerns, but I think Jen is overwhelmed at the idea of starting someplace new. This round, we will stick with Ms FDA. After that, I guess we will see.

  3. wtf? I can’t believe they tested YOU for STDs! That’s the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard! And it sounds vaguely sketchy and homophobic. I don’t like it.

Leave a Reply

