The gig is up

 

Me in the law library

Me in the law library

When I decided to go to law school, I was still post partum. Post partum can be an emotional time. Some women put their head’s in ovens, I took the LSAT.

I had this idea that I would meet a lot of other mothers in school. I pictured us having a study group while our children crawled around near by. But when I got to law school, I was the only mother in my section. There was one other mother that I met in my entire class, but her daughter was much older. Apparently, the other mothers were doing sensible things like signing up for Baby Yoga.

Still, I found having a kid useful. I don’t know how many times I heard some exclaim, “I just don’t know how you do it, Googie?” (How do I do it? I have a wife. A wife who cooks and does my laundry, and only works weekends. That’s how I do it). But I made sure all of my professors knew that I had a kid. I am pretty sure at least a couple of them gave me a bump up in grades out of pity.

This was a pretty good gig. Until someone in my class got pregnant, had a baby, and then returned to class THE NEXT WEEK! She’s totally destroying my excuse. And she is so gracious about it. I told her she was crazy. When I had a baby, I didn’t get out of bed for 3 months. I could tell by the look on her face that she didn’t really want to hear my opinion of her maternal schedule. She just calmly said, “Everyone’s experience is different.”

What am I doing to about this girl? She’s not playing the I Have A Baby card at all. And my professors no longer feel sorry for me.  I am thinking I might need to get a debilitating illness. 

16 thoughts on “The gig is up

  1. oh no! she is ruining it for mothers in law school everywhere!! she clearly sucks. just wait, it will catch up to her soon- her baby is still a newborn and sleeps all day- wait until the sleepless nights kick in full force!

  2. Virgin – my god, what are piles? They sound horrid.

    Cee – I think you are on to something. You have that adrenaline thing for the first few weeks. And then it all comes crashing down.

  3. God, I can’t imagine doing law school and doing ANYTHING else besides it. You are amazing, even with super-lawyer-mom-to-infant person.

  4. I second Rhea’s comment, except the opposit.e. I can’t believe you are a mom and doing anything else besides that! Though the wife helps. My coworker told me once I needed to get a stay at home wife.

    My stay at home husband’s feelings were hurt.

    (But he works from home, so that is diff.)

    /End wandering comment.

  5. She sucks.

    The good news is that her kid will probably develop colic or something else that makes him/her miserable to live with. Karma is a biotch.

    PS – I will admit that I returned to school 2 weeks after giving birth.

Leave a Reply

