My fellow Americans

I’ve been too sick to blog, and now that I am feeling better, I was going to give you all the gory details. But I have run across some things on the internet that are so disturbing, I feel the need to address them.

I had a friend who was very religious. Nevertheless, she held that people shouldn’t read the Bible. Why? Because she thought most people were too stupid to handle it. Yes, we are snobs here in the Northeast. But you could try and prove us wrong. Why don’t you start by believing in evolution.

I am beginning to feel the same way about the Constitution. People may be too stupid to read it.

First, I came across this:

A petition campaign challenging Obama’s eligibility for the Presidency. There are all sorts of theories that I have read about why he isn’t eligible. I have heard that he either is a dual citizen (with Indonesia) or not a citizen at all because his father was Kenyan.

People.

Here is the first line of the 14th Amendment.

All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and of the State wherein they reside. 

Please listen to me carefully.  Barack Obama was born in Hawaii. A state of the United States. That makes him a natural born citizen. Game, set and match. Your lawsuits are not being denied because of a conspiracy. They are being denied because your argument is too stupid to take up judicial resources.

If that wasn’t bad enough, I see this on Andrew Sullivan (someone who is not stupid, and really should know better)

Can she become secretary of state? (This is about Clinton)

No Senator or Representative shall, during the Time for which he was elected, be appointed to any civil Office under the Authority of the United States which shall have been created, or the Emoluments whereof shall have been increased during such time; and no Person holding any Office under the United States, shall be a Member of either House during his Continuance in Office.

Guys. All she has to do is resign her Senate seat. The framers did not want someone to be in the executive branch and the legislative branch at the same time. But she can be in the legislative branch when she is nominated.

My fellow citizens. Cut this shit out. The part about Mr. Obama is particularly disturbing because I think is really just fodder for racists. This way they can argue that they don’t hate him because he is black. They hate him because he is not really eligible for the Presidency.

 

6 thoughts on “My fellow Americans

  1. My issue with stuff like that is: (i) why read it to begin with? (ii) why repeat it? (iii) why bother to respond to it?

    Would you read, repeat and respond to someone who said that Bush’s mother had sex with a chicken and that’s how GeeDubya was conceived and so he’s not 100% human so he wasn’t eligible to be president? I’m so hugely annoyed by the stupidity and the ridiculousness of the crazy claims made by gawd-knows-who that get repeated…as if they were worth making in the first place…as if such claims have any right to see the light of day or reach anyone’s ear or eye. They do not. Let’s talk about how the moon is made of cheese. It’s just as relevant.

    You have a good mind. Don’t waste on this crap.

  2. Yep, I think Clinton’s gonna have to take the pay cut. Which disturbs me in that the fix is a little like I read and glean what I want when I want it. Not exactly a Constitutional theory I want to see championed by our new Pres.

  3. The whole “Obama is not an American” thing is bizarre. These folks are just white-bread Americans who can’t stand anything slightly unfamiliar.

  4. I thought the argument was that Obama was actually born in Kenya, not Hawaii, though I’m not quite sure how the Hawaiian birth certificate fits in. Apparently there are more creative arguments than I was aware of — I haven’t been following this very much.

    Honestly, though, this isn’t any different from what has been going on the last eight years, i.e., yet another claim that the president is not legitimately in office, only this time, the claim is being made from the other side of the political fence. Same old, same old.

Leave a Reply

