A late Thanksgiving

I was trying to suffer in silence, but then I thought why? I have a blog where I can complain. So, I was sick on Thanksgiving. I missed out on dinner with the Presbyterians and that was very sad. I won’t go into the details, but I did not want to eat. What god in heaven did I offend that I should be rendered without an appetite on the biggest eating holiday of the year?

The next day I was feeling better. Jen and I decided to indulge our inner goofs and go to Plimouth (sic) Plantation the next day.

This is a replica of the Mayflower. It’s parked next to a replica of Plymouth Rock, which I did not take a picture of, because it’s just a rock.

 

The Mayflower

The Mayflower

Jen was too embarrassed to take pictures of the pilgrims, so I had to do it.

 

Pilgrim

Pilgrim

This is a picture from the actual settlement. Because we were there with a two year old we wizzed through it. It was a whirlwind tour of the 17th c.

 

Hut at the Native American Village

Hut at the Native American Village

At dinner, we had a traditional colonial meal. The pilgrims sang to us. They also walked around and talked to us. One of the female Pilgrims ask me about my son. She then told me that she had a baby but it died. I know she was just playing a character, but it made me sad.

 

Singing Pilgrims

Singing Pilgrims

And this is my Massachusetts

 

Plymouth

Plymouth

3 thoughts on “A late Thanksgiving

  1. awwww those pictures remind me of my childhood. I remember one year when I was in grade school my parents brought me there ….and I decided I REALLY wanted to volunteer there during the summer (I wanted to be a pilgrim sooooo bad) So my parents brought me over to the lady who was taking the applications so that I could apply. The lady told me that I couldnt be a pilgrim…but I might be able to pass as an indian. (Im 1/2 asian)

    I was pissed. lol.

    ahhhhh childhood.

Leave a Reply

