A Boston Marriage

 

Rings

Rings

Four years ago today, I promised Jen that “where you go, I will go. Wherever you will stay, I will stay. Your people shall be my people, your God, my God.”

And with that, we were married in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Before I met Jen, I felt like I was wandering the earth alone. I moved from city to city without purpose. There was no point in staying anywhere. I was homesick, but without a home.

 Love saved me. I now have a family.

And the fact that the Commonwealth recognizes my marriage gives me not only a family, but a city. I feel like a citizen of Massachusetts. My rights are the same as my neighbors.

So I have a special request to make of my readers. There is an amendment on the ballot in California that would strip gay couples of their marriage rights. The anti-gay forces are outspending gay marriage advocates in California. New polls show that the amendment may pass.

I don’t have a lot of readers, but I do get about 100 people a day. If every one of my visitors donates $5 to No On Prop 8, that would be $500 that they didn’t have before. In honor of our anniversary, I am asking everyone who passes by here to donate.

And if you are in California, please vote no on Proposition 8.

I want to give a special thanks to our straight allies like Jessica for recognizing the importance of this civil rights issue.

“He upholds the cause of the oppressed

and gives food to the hungry. 
      

The LORD sets prisoners free” Psalm 146.7

 

Update:

You all are so generous.

Visit Pt-Law Mom for a sexy blog about balancing work, school, family and boyfriends!

Visit smart and funny Virgin for her take on life in law school

I also you want to visit In Loco Parentis. Unlike Virgin and me, she’s got a real job. Her blog is fun and I am sure you will enjoy it. 

And

Thanks to Tracy Bishop, who I am sure would have a rockin’ blog if she had one.

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “A Boston Marriage

  1. Oh great, since you called me out I had to give double.

    Link love for anyone who gives $10 or more. Don’t underestimate the value of that love, I’ve talked vagina two days running.

    Happy Anniversary ladies.

  2. I’m with you, kids. And I’ve got my LA County absentee ballot coming to Boston–take that, fucking homophobes.

    You said it way nicer, but my heart’s in the right place, I swear.

  3. Another straight ally with no link to give love to, but I will be SUPPORTING!!!!

    As a law student, limited to $10 presently, but hopefully that’s ok…

  4. Jessica, we combined our names with a hyphen so that we all had the same name. It’s a real pain in the ass. People can never figure out what your name is. Sometimes they use one, sometimes another. It totally stumps law professors.

    If I had to do it over again, I would have chosen a completely new last name. Something fun like Strawberry or Arizona.

  5. I wish I were in CA so I could vote on this issue. I just don’t get it. With all the issues out there like the economic disaster and multi-front war the US is fighting, I don’t understand why people would be angry about two people who love each other. Anyway – I’m with you!

  6. A little late in terms of this post, but we are your allies hardcore. We’re like the Iran to your Venezuela, the U.S. to your Israel…you get the picture. We just gave $100 (and I posted about it.)

Leave a Reply

