Here goes nothing

Going on these OCI interviews sort of feels like going on a blind date that I know is going to be a disaster, or at the very least, a waste of time. It’s like someone who winks at you on Match.com, and you think hey, so what if she is a member of the NRA, and I didn’t even know lesbians could join the Log Cabin Club.  But you go anyway. Not because you are desperate (well, maybe a little) but because you have this stupid, foolish hope that maybe you will show up and it will be magic. In the back of your mind, you are guarding yourself against the inevitable hit to your self-esteem that is coming your way.

In some ways, getting 4 interviews is the worse thing that could happen. My chances are slim, but yet, I still have to prepare, I still have to show up. It’s on my mind the whole week. I cut my hair for these goddamn people! I got a French manicure! But I am wearing a pantsuit, and not a skirt like the CDO suggested. If Hillary can run for president in a pantsuit, I think I should be able to go to work in one.

10 thoughts on “Here goes nothing

  1. I always wonder if the firms actually care about skirt/pantsuits. My law school doesn’t suggest one or the other, but we’re in LA, which I guess is supposed to be a pretty casual market. On the other hand, I wore a skirt to half of my interviews and pants to the other half, and all of my callbacks came from the first half. Now I’m not sure what to wear to the callbacks 😉

    Good luck!

  2. I’m wearing pant suits too. And I can’t believe–in 2008, in major coastal cities in the good old U.S. of A.–we’re freaking talking about this. On principle alone now, I won’t wear a skirt to an interview. Though if my brother declines the offer from his uber white shoe firm and instead decides to go back on the market, he may be wearing a skirt. You never know. It’s LA.

  3. I LOVE the analogy to a blind date- it’s perfect! They actually suggest you wear a skirt!? My school suggests pantsuit- weird! Ha ha, you know you’re putting in the effort if you get both a haircut AND a manicure- I would never go that far for a blind date though, lol. Good luck!

  4. I was told only to wear skirt suits by our CSO, and I followed their advice. Now I’m on the other side of the table and I can honestly tell you that law firms do not give a damn about what you wear to the interview, as long as it looks professional. Period.

  5. So – I’m watching Hillary speak right now and she just said “here’s to the sisterhood of the travelling pantsuit.”

    You rock your pantsuit self. I loathe those skirt suits and think they make me look like a heiffer. I always wear pants.

    good luck!

  6. Pingback: Blawgs I Read: Mommy on the Floor « 0L to 3L: My Journey to & through Law School

Leave a Reply

