Random Wednesday

Those you who are serious runners are going to find this funny but I am very proud of myself because I am running 1.5 miles a few times a week. When I first started jogging at the beginning of the summer, I couldn’t go for more then ten minutes without heaving over into a big pile of wheezing blubber. But now I am up to 20 whole minutes.

My diet has not gone very well. I am not best friends with self-restraint.  But I have lost 10 lbs just from the exercise. I have also been lifting weights. I felt pressured into weight training because my son is in the 80 percentile for both height and weight, and loves being tossed around. He is a 35 pound bruiser, and I needed to become stronger in order to play with him.

And for some reason, he has totally regressed, and he wants to be carried around all of the time. He has taken to crawling again. He points to himself, says “Baby” and then demands to be picked up. Jen tries to reason with him. She argues that the mere fact that he can say “baby” indicates that he is not, in fact, a baby. Reason has no sway on him whatsoever, he just crawls away.

If we had actually succeeded in our babymaking, I would assume that is the reason for his sudden infantilism. But really, he just decided 2 and ½ wasn’t working for him and he would rather go back to being 9 months.

If I could go back, I think I would go back to 27. But I don’t really want to be 27, I want to have the life I have now, I just want to look like I did when I was 27. Please don’t suggest plastic surgery to me. I’ve seen those women. When you merge 20 with 40, you do not get 20 or 40 – you are just out there in plastic land.

7 thoughts on “Random Wednesday

  1. Several thoughts:

    1) My son was 31 lbs. at 10 months and I’m guessing he’s about 33 lbs. at 12 months … I’ll find out for sure at his check-up. Oh, and he was 31.5 inches at 10 months, too. He’s crazy tall.

    2) Eww – you really heard the governor of TX say that? Ick. I had an anonymous poster on my Texas post that totally solidified my negative opinions of the entire state. He was all “guns and Texas is awesome” …. *gag*

    3) At the rate my son is growing, he’ll be 50000 lbs by age 2 and a half … and I’ll be crippled.

  2. Congrats! Everyone has to start somewhere and it looks like you make GREAT progress so far. The great thing about running is the more you practice, the better you get and the more motivated that makes you.

    Keep up the good work.

    I miss running- I stopped two months ago when I started my summer job and I’m totally in withdrawal.

  3. 20 minutes of elevated heart rate is nothing to sneeze at. I’ve been big and I’ve been small and I can tell you that being fit is the best feeling ever.

    My daughter was potty trained at 2 years 8 months. My son was born when she was 2 years 9 months old. She un-potty trained at 2 years 10 months. Coincindence? I think not.

    Just because he’s tiny doesn’t mean he hasn’t picked up on the We’reThinkingOfAnotherBaby dynamic. And oh how little boys love to stay little…

    Thank goodness for them too.

  4. Kudos!! I started running about a year before I got pregnant with Gabriel. We live close to the bike path, and there was a bridge almost exactly 1 mile from the apartment. I remember the first time I was able to run to the bridge *without stopping or walking!* I was thrilled! So big congrats for the 1.5 mile marker. I was aiming for the 2 mile marker when we were blessed with our little guy. After the morning sickness, I just didn’t have it in me to start all over. If I can find the time to escape the boy and the dissertation, I’d really like to run again.

Leave a Reply

