plays in the dirt

There is a writing competition to get on our law school’s journal. Just before my last final, I was talking to a friend of mine. I told him that I really dreaded the idea of not only the writing competition but also being on a journal. But everyone tells you how important it is and how you “should” do it.

My friend is one of my favorite people, and I think he is going to be a great attorney. But he is a play by the rules kind of a guy. So I was a little surprised at how this comment elicited a tirade about how tired he was of hearing what you should do, what you should take, and having to apologize for not getting into Harvard.

I nodded my head and took my Contracts final.

After the final, I went down the hall to where they were passing out the material for the writing competition.The pretty girl handed me a thick packet and wished me luck. I took one look at that packet, thought about what my friend had just said and decided, no journal. I didn’t have it in me.

So not only have I not been joining my classmates in Blue booking and researching this last week, I also haven’t been blogging. For a minute, it felt a little too much like work to blog, and I’m boycotting work right now.

So instead, I’ve been playing trains with my very favorite conductor, and checking out the penguins at the aquarium.

I’ve started running again. It occurred to me that if I did not do something about my weight I was going to graduate from law school and promptly die of a heart attack.

And today I went to Home Depot and bought a bunch of flowers and herbs for my back porch. Lil’ guy and I spent the afternoon digging in the dirt.


7 thoughts on “plays in the dirt

  1. Good for you! I had that same thought process about journal . . . I didn’t WANT to do it. I mean, who wants to sit in some stupid office a gazillion hours and ponder a bunch of boring stuff as an activity? Eww – and the PEOPLE on law review? Totally make me shudder. Moreover, I just didn’t feel any urge to do it because I was “supposed to” do it. I know lots of people feel that urge, but I just didn’t have it in me. I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. And I don’t regret it at all!

  2. Good for you. As you already know, I am a lemming, did the writing competition, and spent the next two years paying for my lemming-ness in a little office surrounded by the most obnoxious people in law school. Oh, how I HATED law review.

  3. I did the exact same thing. I knew we were planning to have a baby in law school, I knew that I hadn’t spent nearly enough time with my husband as a 1L, and I knew I would never regret not being on law review. I enjoyed going home for dinner 2L year and living a more relaxed life (until Landon came along!). It was the first time I’ve ever stepped back from another prestigious notch for my belt and it felt good to realize that from now on it’s about the best choices for my family and not just for my resume. So yay for you 🙂

    And I loved your comment on Proto Attorney’s post — the “You don’t have to be honest, you can be kind” — brilliant and perfect.

  4. I applaud your decision – I made the same one. If everyone just complained all the time about journals, then why the heck would I ever want to be on one? Unfortunately, I came from a very creative background where you could come from anywhere and really do anything you wanted. I hate to say that law is really not like that (at least in my experience).

    When I decided that I was interested in clerking, I was told it wasn’t possible without being on a journal. Thinking about maybe teaching in the future? Almost every professor was on a journal and most likely on the board as well.

    I thought about writing on to the journal here (is there a process for doing that at your school?), but with the other craziness of 2L year and having my topic pre-empted twice I just didn’t get around to it. I wish someone had told me exactly why law review was important, so I guess I feel it is my duty to pass that tidbit along to you.

    This is not to make you feel guilty, stressed or otherwise unhappy about your decision. Just trying to let you know what might be foreclosed in the future, just in case it isn’t too late. 🙂

  5. omg, I was so exhausted after my last 1L final that I couldn’t FATHOM filling out the write on application. I don’t regret it AT ALL- especially when my law review friends were pulling out their hair to finish their articles 🙂

    Good luck on the running- it becomes really enjoyable if you start to do it regularly- just make sure you have music to listen too! Running in new places makes the run go by so much faster too or running on a treadmil while watching tv.

  6. Pingback: Blawgs I Read: Mommy on the Floor « 0L to 3L: My Journey to & through Law School

Leave a Reply

