I just got back from Moot Court, and the verdict is….

I loved it! Really.

A friend of mine wished me luck at arguments tonight. Yesterday, my water heater broke and my basement flooded. I lost a glove from my favorite pair, I ripped my favorite scarf looking for my favorite glove (don’t ask) and I was pissed because my Legal Writing instructor gave me yet another lousy grade. I told my friend that Moot Court was the last thing on my mind.

So we all get to the classroom/courtroom, and the judges are there in their little robes, and we are there in our black pumps (and yes, someone was wearing pearls). Opposing council does her spiel, and the judges are asking really tough questions about the case law. I was so annoyed about this whole thing, I didn’t even review the cases. I’m thinking, “Shit, maybe I should have prepared better.”

So then I get up there, and not three sentences in, the judges start hammering in with the questions. They were really hard questions. But I just said a little prayer, and thought about how Tyra Banks would handle the situation. By the time I sat down, I was actually having fun.

I got some really nice feedback too. Two of the judges actually said that I should consider litigation.

I don’t know if I could handle all of the work that comes with the competitions next year, but I had a good time.

Good luck to anyone who hasn’t gone yet!

7 thoughts on “I just got back from Moot Court, and the verdict is….

  1. Pumps and pearls, rrrrroowww. Hot.

    Congrats on the oral argument success – I’m impressed. I tanked my first one and never tried again (as in, EVER). Hopefully this is an indication of the fact that your life will be far more exciting and Law and Order-ish than mine.

  2. Congrats!!!

    And if I’d known you ‘needed’ the pearls this quickly, I’d have overnighted them. Sigh.

    Never underestimate the power of pearls on a bunch of New England blackrobes.

    But it sounds like you managed fine without.

  3. So the key to this law school thing is to listen to Tyra Banks? Shit, then there’s no reason that I’m not doing better.

  4. I just linked to your blog through In Loco Parentis and I can’t wait to spend part of my weekend reading back through your archives. I went to law school in Vermont and now I’m back in NC with my partner, working for a large firm. My partner and I are in the process of trying to start a family so I’ll be looking to your blog for some insight! Oh, and by the way, I LOVED Moot Court in law school.

  5. Pingback: PT-LawMom | Weekly MILS Roundup #38

Leave a Reply

