Valentine’s Day 2008 – Trying for number #2

We finally cleared all of the hurdles that the HMO put us through, and tried for baby number 2 on Valentine’s Day.  I had to miss Property to be there with Jen. It was exciting and went really smoothly. The nurse there was really chummy and chatted the whole way through. When she was done, Jen asked if there was anything she should do for the rest of the day. The nurse replied that Jen should have me take her out to lunch. After all, what had I done? Jen answered that I had carried our first child.

The nurse then says, “That’s nice, you guys trade off like that.” But then she turns to me suddenly and asks, “Or did YOU get too OLD?”

Ha Ha. Oh lady, you are so not my friend.

She then recommended the restaurant next door. She swears it’s nice. It was called the Longhorn. Why I couldn’t see what a restaurant named the Longhorn would be like is beyond me. Its all steaks and beef, but on the wall are heads of cattle. Like I want to see my meat as I eat it? Why don’t they just reenact butchering the cow?

That was strike number 2 for the nurse. At any rate, we are officially in the 2 week wait.  I will let you know what happens!

10 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day 2008 – Trying for number #2

  1. I wish you the best, can not wait to know!
    I could never wait two weeks I always tested on day ten! and the next day and the next day and the next day until two weeks are up and oops not pregnant. Oh but when I was pregnant it showed up on day 10 very light line. Even put one in the trash on day ten and thought it was negative and dug it out of the garbage latter to show my partner and it was “+” yes then we had a girl! Ok I just thought you might enjoy the story.

  2. Ooh, congratulations!!! Sending lots of sticky vibes your way for great implantation. Hopefully all will go well and you’ll be having a sweet little Christmas baby (is my timing right?) Keep us posted! 🙂

  3. I’m hyperventilating over that nurse’s comment. If I had been there things would have gotten really ugly, really fast. Did you get TOO OLD? Who the f asks that type of thing?

  4. By the way, I forgot to mention before that this is an expensive-ass process – as I’m sure you know from doing it once before. It nearly broke me, and then I got desperate and tried standing on my head. I know it sounds crazy, but it worked. Think about it… gravity… going the wrong way…

    I don’t even know if this comment makes sense, but I figured you guys might want to try it. You look silly as hell but I swear it works, and it could save you some money.

Leave a Reply

