New Year’s Eggs

 EggsThey retrieved 10 eggs from me this morning. The procedure wasn’t bad. I am sore and pretty tired, but getting my wisdom teeth removed was much worse. Now I need to decide what to do. Considering my age, I was hoping to freeze 20 eggs, so I should probably go one more round. But the whole procedure is very expensive and emotionally trying. Plus, there is a logistics question. Towards the end of the process, you have to go to the center every morning for an ultrasound and a blood draw. You should see my veins, they are all banged up like a heroin addict. My classes start at 8:40 in the morning so I am not sure this will work.

Also, Jen pointed out that I don’t even know if I want to be the bio mom again. I just want the option. She is trying to get pregnant now, and she told me tonight she is interested in carrying more than once. She’s young, so that’s probably a realistic option for her. So if you do the math – that’s a lot of kids.

Yet, despite all of this, I still have a strong urge to go one more round and double my chances. I think my biological clock is ticking. Biology can just make you so irrational.

5 thoughts on “New Year’s Eggs

  1. Hang in there! I know how hard it can be, especially when you start reading the ingredients on the boxes and discover you’re injecting yourself with Chinese hamster ovaries. On second thought, it’s probably better NOT to know what goes in there. Yuck.

  2. Someone’s going to have to explain this to me.

    In the crudest of terms can’t you just have an orgasm and figure out how to get some sperm in there when everything’s all open and whatnot?

    Do you Have to do the drugs and the freezing or is there some combination of acting like an adult and a 15 year old saying “oopsie” that will get you a baby?

    I’ve been loving some of the non traditional conception stories but I have to confess, I don’t understand most of it.

    FYI the hot accountant has twins who are a few months old now and I’m happy to report that he now has a double chin (but he’s still ridiculously hot so it’s a little unfair).

  3. Sue and New Duck, you both made me laugh out loud.

    New Duck – I knew I was playing with some funky stuff when my partner, the nurse who isn’t remotely afraid of medicine, said, “This is some strange brew we are injecting into you.”

    Sue – the orgasm/turkey baster would work, BUT I am freezing my eggs for future use. I want to finish law school and work for a couple of years. Basically, my younger self is acting as the egg donor for my older self. Yes, its very weird.

  4. 10 is good. Going another round wouldn’t hurt either tho – better now than later, right?
    …if it were only as easy as an orgasm… 🙂

Leave a Reply

