A bone

If Kerri calls me out, I have to come out.

Basically, I am overwhelmed, exhausted, not sleeping, living off of cheez its and starbucks, stressed out of my mind, brains on fire, feel like I have been hit by a truck, and all in all, having a marvelous time.

It has just been very very hard. I go to sleep and night, and my brain races around with:

murder manslaughter negligence false light invasion of privacy due process violations bad actors in the world.

I can’t remember the next morning the cases I read the night before.

Furthermore, I have been really struggling in criminal law because frankly, my dears, I feel like all of these Mens Rea requirements are just ways for people to wiggle out of taking responsibility for their actions. I came to law school to be a gentlemen lawyer, and I feel like throwing the book at someone.

So it’s back to crim. We are studying manslaughter this week. It’s terribly exciting. If you don’t hear from me in a week, send for help.

4 thoughts on “A bone

  1. Aw, don’t take the Mens Rea stuff personally. As hard as it is to read about people who beat their kids and get off scott free because they didn’t meat the appropriate MPC level of culpability, it’s cases like that that help legislators change the law so that these bastards can’t get away with it in the future. Chin up!

  2. I feel your pain. Though, I have to admit, I have not taken Crim Pro yet. Since I am an evening student, we do not take it in our first year, which probably leaves us at a disadvantage. I’m dealing with Mens Rea in Environmental Enforcement. Quite a gray area, as is much of law. That is what makes it fun though….reasonable minds can differ.

    The paper. Sorry. Yes, everyone bombs early on in legal writing. We have to, so they can help us undo what has up until this point made us great writers and wonderful students. It’s part of the initiation. After first year, you may or may not be fortunate enough to have anyone ever be critical of your writing again. They may be more concerned over the substance, or have a more relaxed style, or just not read very critically. Get everything you can out of Legal Writing now! It’s painful, but will be worth it.

    Hang in there!

  3. I’m just happy to hear your breathing… But far more happy to hear you’re happy and loving it!
    Hang in there – sounds like all is well.

Leave a Reply

