I’ve been neglecting you

I haven’t been posting, and I haven’t been leaving comments on your blogs. I am missing in action.

Law school is every bit as hard, and every bit as exciting as they say it is. I’ve talked with other students, and we are surprised at how emotionally draining it is as well. Though, it’s not surprising. I’m soo sleep deprived. I haven’t quite figured out how to balance everything. I am in class all day, come home, hang out with the family for a few hours. I’m not going to study while lil’ guy is up. So often, I don’t get to the computer until around 8:00, so I’m up until 12:00 or 1:00 studying. My son wakes up at 5:45! So I am up. I have never dealt well with sleep deprivation, and I can feel myself becoming slowly unglued.

There are so many things I have wanted to post about, and will try to. But here are some quick observations:

  • Law book are very heavy
  • Dissents are more fun to read than majority opinions. Scalia’s fun.  He’s so pissy. Maybe he needs to get more sleep.
  • It doesn’t matter if you are in a Tier 1 school, there are still people who are going to bitch about not getting into Yale
  • White privileged males who happen to be professors will use any excuse to talk about sex workers
  • Legal citations suck. I mean really suck. I honestly thought that after law school I would make enough money to outsource this sort of drudgery.
9 thoughts on “I’ve been neglecting you

  1. Wish I could tell you it gets easier. I tried going to sleep as soon as Pumpkinhead went down and then getting up at 3 or 4 to study. Inevitably he would wake up early on the days I really needed the time. Sigh… Now I study a lot at lunch and block out Sunday afternoons to do several hours straight while his Daddy keeps him occupied. Legal citations get easier. The federal ones are pretty standard and, if you practice in a specific state, the state-specific ones will start to become routine. Don’t worry, you’ll get it! 🙂

  2. Glad to hear from you but I understand given your schedule. Just keep trying different things and you will find the balance that works.

    One of the pieces of advice provided this past weekend at the law school open house I attend they recommended we start taking vitamns if not already doing so. They may help you feel physically better but only sleep will be the cure.

    Try and get some. Wishing you the best.

  3. Here’s what I heard:

    I miss you Sue because you’re fabulous…. [blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah ]
    I need to sleep ….[blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah]

    SEX

    [blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah]

    I’m going to be a lawyer and rule the free world.

    I was really glad to hear from you though.

  4. Wow. That’s a crazy schedule for a girl who doesn’t deal with lack of sleep very well. But it sounds like you’re figuring it out and as long as you check in here once and a while, we won’t worry about you.

    How’s your family dealing with it? They’ll just love you when it’s over? 🙂

  5. i just want to say “ya poor bitch”, but that wouldn’t be very helpful so i won’t.

    just think about how fast the last few years have gone wizzing by, it will be done and you’ll be a lawyer and then you’ll have stacks of time to sleep while ruling the free world, and you will look back and wonder where the time went.

    i hope you find a routine that works really soon, or at least a freeze time machine.

  6. Hi Mary,
    I miss you guys…I was wondering if you were going to post about the women in the news who was granted more time for breastfeeding to take the med exam….I think you’d be a great person to post on this.

  7. Ha! I totally hear you. I ended up making my carpal tunnel symptoms worse by dragging/rolling around my way-too-heavy backpack!

    I frequently feel that the younger students are more well-spoken and have read the case much more carefully than I have. I’ve gotten to the point I read for the main idea – the holding – a bit of dicta, and frankly, I’m done. That doesn’t work well when you get called on in class and cut right to the chase, but hey – I’m balancing work, kids, school, I don’t have the room for all those tiny details that frankly, will not be on the final 🙂

    It all works out. I know it does. It will for you!

    (This post really was going to go under the one with the picture of the books, but wordpress was playing games and wouldn’t accept my comment!)

Leave a Reply

