Splashing around Boston

I had just about a perfect day today. I have a to-do list a mile long, but I decided that Tuesday was 100% little guy’s day.

So in the morning, we went to the local playground. He ran around with the dog, and then we had our morning nap. When he woke up, I feed him a hot dog, and told him we were going to get adventuresome. So we took the train down to the Boston Common, and we splashed around the Frog Pond. I wasn’t sure how he was going to react to the frog pond or the train. In theory, he loves trains. He loves them so much that when we leave the house, he scoops up as many of his toy trains as he can carry and walks out the door. However, I wasn’t sure how he would react to a real train.

He was so excited to be on a train that he babbled the whole way downtown.

We get to the frog pond, and again, I’m not sure how it’s going to go. He has a love/hate relationship with water. There were a lot of kids there, and he did hang out a bit before jumping in, but once he did, there was no stopping him. He was as happy as a pig in mud.

Afterwards, I went to change him out of his wet clothes, and as soon as he was stripped down, he ran. He was running naked through Boston! I caught him. Got him dressed and then took him over to the church ladies at the big church where I used to work. They ooohed and aaahhed over him.

We get home, he takes a two hour nap. He was able to stay up and see Mama when she got home from work.

The only hitch. I forgot my camera, so this is not my picture of the frog pond. Its from the city of Boston web site. You will just have to trust me when I say, he was really cute.

Frog pond

4 thoughts on “Splashing around Boston

  1. Well…while I’d much rather see pictures of the two of you enjoying the frog pond, this pictures is damn cute!

    And I’ll just imagine a naked baby running through the streets of Boston with you chasing him.

    So Cute!

  2. Aaahh, the camera. Sometimes I’m GLAD when I forget my camera. It helps me be in the moment. Sometimes the lens just cannot capture that perfect feeling.

  3. I’m glad you have this day recorded here. It’s just these sorts of days with the kids while they’re so little that I think I’ll never forget…but then in ten years, maybe I will.

    For you to be able to look back and read this and say, “Oh, man, I can’t believe I never told you about the time I chased your naked little baby butt through Boston!” is priceless.

Leave a Reply

