My family

Our little family

It’s hard for me to express in words how much what happened today means to me and my family. Jen and I have been involved in the emotionally and financially draining fight for nearly four years.

Marriage confers important benefits such as hospital visitations and inheritance rights on a couple. And though those things are important, to me, it’s never been about benefits. It’s about being a citizen. Today, I feel like a citizen of Massachusetts. Walking around Central Square, I felt as if I really belonged here. I have the same rights and responsibilities as the girl serving Starbucks, the bus drivers, and even the homeless people asking for change. This is my city.

As I rode the bus home tonight, we passed over the Charles River. I had never notice it before, but you can see the golden dome of the state house from the bridge. I nearly broke into tears. To think 151 lawmakers affirmed my rights today. I never would have believed it even five years ago.

I want to thank everyone for cheering us on, our straight allies across the nation, and most of all the legislatures who switched their votes. One representative who switched her vote wrote a very eloquent press release which can be read on Boston.com: http://www.boston.com/news/globe/city_region/breaking_news/2007/06/one_lawmaker_in.html

And for those of you against gay marriage, I want you to know one thing. I take this commitment very seriously. I promise to honor my wife and this institution. As time goes on, I think your fear will subside, and you will see, we are just like you. There is no need to be afraid. We are just a couple of goofy girls in love.

One more thing, I want to thank the Higher Power too.

8 thoughts on “My family

  1. My partner & I just read your post and decided we’ll be coming over for a bbq as soon as we can sell the house and pack our bags. 🙂

    Really though, congratulations. You and your family are held safely in your great State. & more will follow. One at a time.

  2. I can’t believe we are seeing this in our lifetimes! Massachusetts and Judge Margaret Marshall rock! Hey, look at that little tiny baby in the photo!

  3. Yes Housewife, the SJC made honest women of us.

    Hi Rhea and Susan, you are right, the little baby is not ours. That is our niece. She was two days old in the picture. I chose this picture because I liked the way my hair looked. Ha!

  4. This is such good news…now if we can just get the rest of the country on board. My two lesbian farmer neighbors are selling their place so they can move someplace where they can get married.

Leave a Reply

