Emergency Room Memories

I just read a post over at Karen Road Chronicles that got me thinking.

I’m not an anti-Western medicine kind of a person. I am married to a nurse for crying out loud. But when I was about 6 weeks pregnant, I started to bleed. I didn’t think it was a big deal, but when I called the doctor, they said I should go to the emergency room. I spent hours in the emergency room watching the show Cops, and freaking out.

The young doctor seemed scared to death of me. They gave me a real painful pelvic exam and ultrasound. They told me that I might as well go home. There was nothing they could do, the pregnancy was pretty much over. Jen and I were distraught. We went home to wait it out.

I struggle with a belief in God, but I looked up at the sky and said, “I know I am not supposed to tell what to do, but I am having this goddamn baby. You’ve asked a lot of me in life, but I am not giving you this. I am having THIS VERY BABY, you mother f#cker.”

 

Apparently, God listened. Come Monday, I was still pregnant. I called my doctor, and he had me come in for an ultrasound. By that time, there was a visible heart beat.

I was so excited I nearly showed the ultrasound picture to the policeman directing traffic.

 

I have since learned that emergency rooms are notoriously bad at handling “women’s” issues. They really upset me for no reason at all because it was too early to tell anything when I went in.

In other news, I quit my job today…sort of. I told my boss I was going to law school in the fall. He was so funny, he responded, “Oh, I just love lawyers. Lawyers are fascinating people.” I was thinking, I am glad you are taking this well, but you’re kind of weird.

Pee town Cute picture for no reason

3 thoughts on “Emergency Room Memories

  1. Watching ‘Cops’ even when you’re well is a risky business.
    I am so glad the pregnancy was fine. I am sure women are always treated weirdly in medical settings.
    Your boss IS weird.

  2. Wow! I’ll have to remember that conversation you had with God. Since it worked, you should pass it around 🙂

    Beautiful picture. There’s your reason!

Leave a Reply

