My neighborhood

I love our daycare provider. She is very sensitive to the children, and really attends to their needs. I feel my son is totally safe with her both physically and emotionally.

She is a big townie, and still lives in the house she grew up in. She used to be a marine. 

We were talking one day about the Catholic sex abuse scandal. 

She mentioned the local parish, and said, “All of the boys I grew up with were abused.” 

“All of them?” I asked. Suddenly, I am wrapped up in semantics. All, to me, means every last one. The local church hasn’t been named in any of the press stories, or any legal proceedings.

 “They were all abused,” she says.

 “But they aren’t in any of the lawsuits,” I point out.

 “The families were paid off.”

 I couldn’t believe it.

 Boston is experiencing a rash of violence. Drugs have always plagued the city.

Personally, I can’t help but believe that the wide spread abuse of children fuels both of these problems.

I am in AA, and I hear a lot of stories. You can always tell the incest survivors. You can see it in their eyes. Their souls have been stolen.

This is a crime that reverberates for generations. I still fight my mother’s demons. Everyone involved is dead, but I was a witness to my mother’s rage. It keeps me up at night.

I don’t believe that we will ever solve some of our more difficult issues until we take children’s lives more seriously. I would like to see the money spent on the war on terror instead, used to combat the terror some children experience in their homes.

 

5 thoughts on “My neighborhood

  1. When you compare the mind boggling billions upon billions we’ve spent on the Cheney-Bush war to accomplish harming America’s reputation in the world for generations to come and to replace a dictator with a civil war in which things are way worse for the average Iraqi citizen than under Saddam – four million people and another 50,000 every month don’t leave their homes for nothing – it’s utterly appalling to think of all the things this money might have been used for.

  2. your last several posts have left me wanting to leave (probably too) long and (probably too) indepth comments.
    so instead i’ll just let you know i hear you.

  3. Hi Paul, the Boston Globe had an article about everything that we could have spent with the billions that we spent on this war. We could have bought Iraq for crying out loud.

    Hi Michelle, I am really glad to hear from you. I thought I lost in you in move over.

    Hi Keri, thanks for stopping by. BTW, I visit Pieces of Gray everyday.

  4. I am totally with you! When that Virginia Tech shooting happened, I starting telling everyone that if you want kids to be safe in school, they first need to safe at home. I mean, kids don’t exhibit a complete lack of empathic ability from growing up in a loving home. We all need to get real and start looking at the real roots of rape, child abuse, etc., and not get sidetracked by discussions of brain chemistry or wringing our hands over ‘senseless’ violence. There is a lot of sense to it when you learn about the background of the perpetrator.

Leave a Reply

