Pennies and things

I have seen people who are trying to conceive catalogued their attempts on TTC blogs. I have considered doing this for my job search. But honestly, I don’t think I could possibly recreate the last two years of trying to find employment. I couldn’t detail all of the resumes, interviews, the times I thought I had a chance because I made it to a second interview only to be disappointed, the rejection letters, and the firms/agencies that didn’t even bother to reject me. It’s been demoralizing.

I had a moment of enlightenment at an Oprah event. I realized that I didn’t really want to be a lawyer. So why was I knocking myself out? To prove that my degree wasn’t useless? It also started to sink that I have been looking for a position for two years, and I haven’t received one, it probably wasn’t meant to be.

So I started to think about my degree more broadly. I looked for positions where I thought my degree would be useful but not necessarily where I would be practicing law. I decided to look at the organization first, decide where I would like to work and then worry about what I would be doing.

I found a permanent position at a really great nonprofit. The work is really interesting. It pays better and there are benefits. It’s not a legal position but due to the nature of the work that the organization does, my JD will be useful. So it’s perfect for me.

Today was the last day at the agency for me. I can hardly believe. It honestly doesn’t seem real. I wanted to ditch the surprise farewell party I found out about. But I acted like a grown up and showed up.

I was also very clear in my exit interview about the issues I had at the agency. The HR guy kept trying to explain them away. But I stuck to my points in a clear and calm manner.

I did allow myself one bit of naughtiness. There is a sign that you see for our agency right when you get off of the elevator. Someone had been leaving pennies on it. The penny was the first thing you saw when you got off the elevator. For whatever reason, it drove the director of the agency nuts. Memos went out about it. There were discussions in the staff meeting. The director wanted whoever was doing this to knock it off. (Incidentally, the whole agency is under heavy surveillance so they could have easily just looked at video.)

It wasn’t me. I don’t carry cash but I was amused. So I couldn’t help but do this on my way out the door.

penny

 

 

 

thatkevinsmith

 

 

Also,  Kevin Smith tweeted something naught to me.

 

5 thoughts on “Pennies and things

  1. I’m so incredibly happy for you!!! I know we’ve never met but I’ve thought about you and your struggles so much over the past few years. Kevin Smith isn’t as exciting as the job, but that is so cool!

  2. Pingback: Mothers in the Legal Profession Roundup No. 281 | The Attorney at Large

Leave a Reply

